Go back
Save profile as PDF

France / General / « NOTRe » Act of August 7th 2015(New territorial organisation of the Republic)

FR01_FR0_« NOTRe » Act of August 7th 2015(New territorial organisation of the Republic)_2015

Name of the country France
Sector General
Name of the document (original) Loi NOTRe (Nouvelle organisation territoriale de la République) 7 août 2015
Name of the document (English) « NOTRe » Act of August 7th 2015(New territorial organisation of the Republic)
Administrative level National
Type of the document Legislation
Year of adoption 2015
Foreseen duration Unlimited
Sector General
Territorial unit (NUTS/LAU) FR0
Authority State
Availability in English No
Legally binding Legally binding
SGI coverage SGI
Integration as a concept Yes
Integration elements
Adm. levels
Fin. sources
Description The law forms the framework for administrative levels : Regions and departments will share authority in terms of culture, sports and tourism
Major objectives This act aims to enhance the role of regions in terms of economic development.
The region will be in charge of supporting small and medium-sized businesses. It will have to elaborate a Regional Economic Development, Innovation and internationalisation Plan with regional orientations for five years, as well as a regional sustainable spatial planning, with strategical orientations in terms of spatial planning, mobility, air pollution control, energy, housing and waste management.
Moreover, the law aims to enhance intercommunalities.
Short Summary The French Parliament has approved the draft law on the New Territorial Organisation of the Republic (NOTRe), which redefines the powers of the local and regional governments regarding the country’s administrative and economic policies. The most outstanding measure is the changes to the French internal regional borders, which will reduce the number of regions.

Since january 2016, France has 13 regions. The new delimitations have been adopted by joining the old regions in new territorial groups, which makes them larger. This measure is expected to reinforce the country’s regional governments, as well as their economic competences and the decision-making capacities that do not correspond to the State. This way, the thirteen new regions will have powers on economic development and aid to businesses, territorial planning, transport management, professional training, public employment service, and job management. Besides, they will share powers with the departments on matters related to culture, sports and tourism.

After several amendments, on 16 July the National Assembly and the Senate approved the final text of the NOTRe draft law that was first submitted by the Council of Ministers on 18 June 2014. It finally came into force in January 2016, although the transfer of new powers to the regions will go on until 2017.
Open document URL in new window